The Washington Redskins defeated the Dallas Cowboys week 17 and won the NFC East. The Green Bay Packers played the Minnesota Vikings week 17 and then played them again in the first round of the playoffs, while the Redskins played host to the Seattle Seahawks in the post season opener.

That was 2012, and if the Green Bay Packers win tonight, it will also be 2015.

Redskins and Vikings fans are probably hoping that the Wild Card weekend goes differently than it did 3 years ago, especially with Washington losing their starting QB to injury that year, an injury which arguably crippled his career in many ways for a variety of reasons.

Of the other teams who made it to the playoffs in 2012:

  • Baltimore Ravens won the Super Bowl from the 2012 season, but finished 5-11 this season (probably because of the contract Flacco got by winning that Super Bowl)
  • The San Francisco 49ers lost the Super Bowl, also finished 5-11 this season (probably because they, stupidly, got rid of their great head coach)
  • New England Patriots once again have a first-round bye, just as they did in 2012.
  • Atlanta Falcons finished 8-8 this season and missed the playoffs.
  • Houston Texans are in the playoffs again, having won the AFC South.
  • Cincinnati Bengals are in the playoffs again, only this time they won the AFC North instead of being a Wild Card.
  • Indianapolis Colts missed out on the playoffs this time around.
  • Denver Broncos are there again.
  • And I know we already mentioned them along with Washington, Green Bay and Minnesota at the start of this article, but it’s interesting to note that despite having been in the Super Bowl the past two seasons, the Seattle Seahawks are a Wild Card team again, just like in 2012.

And yet again, Adrian Peterson has won the rushing title, just as he did in 2012.